Home > Squiggle > It’s Me or the Dog

It’s Me or the Dog

So I was reading what might well have been a troll having fun on the MMO-Champion forums, yet I couldn’t help but think of how serious an issue something like this might actually be. Basically, the wife wanted the husband to quit WoW because entertainment is insignificant therefore shouldn’t cost money. The husband said he wouldn’t give up his subscription. The wife drove off in her car and hasn’t returned yet.

Now it feels like a bit of a two-sided consideration, really. My first assumption was that the wife was simply being overbearing, not allowing her husband to have any fun that costs money, and that she needed to back off a bit and let him have his alone time. My second assumption, however, countered that by saying that perhaps he plays too much, and she feels that this is the only way she’ll get his attention away from what is internet crack, or perhaps she can’t afford the $15 a month subscription fee and needs to start cutting corners, and is willing to gamble her whole marriage on those $15 instead. Which brings me back to my first assumption, she’s a loon.

Now I’m trying not to dip too deep into uncharted territory, I don’t have a wife (thank god) but I do have a partner, and I have to wonder whether you’d give up a video game for a real person. Anybody who asks you to forsake a couple of hours a day and $15 a month for no logical reason probably isn’t the most sane person in the world, and you have to consider if there are deeper issues in a relationship where this happens. Perhaps something so big is bubbling away under her skin that even the smallest of things snap, and it just happened to be Warcraft in the firing line. Perhaps the partner would have to give up pizza instead, if she caught him eating that, or give up watching TV, if she caught him doing that.

I don’t think I’d ever give up WoW unless there was a bloody good reason. That’s not to say it’s more important than a partner, but it’s more important than the principle of a partnership. Now, if I were playing for nine hours a day and turning into a slob on the sofa with no job and no life and no friends because of it, then sure I could understand the idea of an ultimatum, but if it is as I am now, where I log in and do my daily and perhaps a couple of randoms on my Druid (which takes no more than a couple of hours collectively), then I’d have to seriously consider whether having aspects of my life that have very few detrimental effects cut out against my will would be a thing I could put up with. It’s a slippery slope from there, soon you’ll be giving up chocolate, pizza, MSN, XBox, sex, the rights to sleep in the same bed, the rights to even speak, and whatever else happens then (divorceeeeeeeeeeeee).

Anyway, that’s by the by and I’m done with my little rhetoric. On a more WoW related note, I have to say that I’m taking time out from raiding (again, I know I do this far too often but I like my breaks!) and I’m loving it. I’m taking time out for two reasons, partly because I have a few real life things on my mind (which I’ve sorted now, so I really should go back to raiding again) and partly because I don’t really enjoy spending excessive amounts of time in the same raid as our new, under-qualified and overly vocal Holy Priests, who’s left all but a good impression on me. I log in to play my Druid, and do my Priest’s daily, but that’s really it. All of this Cataclysm news seems over-hyped too, I must be the only one thinking “oh god, new expansion, time to do this shit all over again”.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

