Home > Uncategorized > Not Always Wrong

Not Always Wrong

I have never claimed I was perfect in any sense or form, I never will, but that doesn’t mean I’m always wrong. What really annoys me when talking about gaming experience is people who claim (and they might be telling the truth) that they’ve been playing for five years, and that those five years means they’ve got three years more experience than I have. Perhaps, yes, but not in the way you want to win your argument.

Imagine this, somebody writes a guide about a class, say a Priest for instance, a guide written for 3.3.3 by somebody who’s only been playing since 3.0.3, which is about 18 months of content. Is this guide any less valid than somebody who’s been playing since 1.0.3? So you have three years more experience with a Priest, but out of those three years, how much of what you know is valid? Game styles change, what was true back then might not be true right now. So you can recite every change ever made to Circle of Healing but that’s not relevant to somebody who wants to play a Priest in 3.3.3. Yes it had no cooldown back in 2.x.x but again, not relevant to now because things change. So those extra three years of experience might mean you’ve acquired a few tricks over the years, but those tricks will be as outdated and useless as the information about a Cooldown-less Circle of Healing.

I’m fine with people being happy that they’ve stayed with the same character in every expansion so far and sure, spread the nostalgia, but don’t rub my face in it because you have three years of worthless knowledge. True, some of it might be useful, but most of it won’t.

With that in mind, I’ll go on with what I was going to say. The above rant isn’t actually something that’s happened to me word for word, though I do have a handful of elitist dicks telling me something similar. The whole reason for ‘going off on one’ is that I’ve got a couple of character guides that I want to post, but for fear of being criticised I haven’t bothered. Some criticism is nice if it’s justified, and my definition of justified is pretty broad, but I just have this awful distaste towards people who’s only criticisms are “it sucks” and “wouldn’t read again” with no justification or recommendation for improvement.

Last summer when I was playing on Horde side with Mist, I was tasked with writing a decent Holy Paladin guide by the guild leader (also a Holy Paladin) so that he could try and improve some of the trialists we had around. I did, and it was pretty shiny and up to date with 3.2 (the current content patch), though relatively untouched after August since I quit for University. I dusted it off and built it again for 3.3, I keep meaning to ask Sheepless for a friendly critical of it but I get distracted too easily. The guide is hosted on my own website so if you’re in a reading mood then feel free to take a look at it and tell me what you think.

I also have a Discipline Guide from way back when too, though I haven’t updated it to 3.3, I will do in the near future but don’t hold your breath.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 16, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Ignore them. Your experiences from playing X class are just as valid as anyone else’s.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

