Home > Squiggle, Veir > Shortfall

Shortfall

Now I don’t want to seem like a hypocrite, I’m fairly relaxed about loot but certain things piss me off. Primarily ML who don’t list the loot rules before an instance starts. That’s your job, do it properly. If I roll 80 and some Druid rolls 60 on a Stave I’ve been wanting for several months in ToC10 then by god I probably should get the stave. But because you didn’t list the rules of looting, I’m wagering under the apparent misconception that I’ll be receiving it, and the Druid will have to try again. Obviously that wasn’t the case, else I wouldnt be mentioning it as an example, and the Druid got the stave because “it was fair”. To be honest, I’d hardly consider it fair that a Druid put in minimal effort, died a lot, didn’t bother Flasking or Potioning and generally did nothing but relatively weak DPS (even for his gear) then be given items as rewards, when the Shadow Priest who topped DPS consistently in his off spec using Flasks and Potions got nothing.

The argument was also that “you’ve had something in here already”. Not that I rolled for I didn’t. A cloth item dropped, no-one wanted it, nobody disenchanted it, and you assumed it’d be an upgrade so you gave it to me. So yes, I got an item, but no I didn’t want it. By those rules surely I can give you (the Holydin) a Leather piece with Spirit because “I think it’s an upgrade” then deny you that 232 slotted Shield you’ve been after for however long you’ve been after it.

So anyway, that’s my little bitch about Master Looters who don’t do their job properly.

On the other hand, sometimes strokes of luck do occur. Veir was running his first ToC25 today and the ML hadn’t actually put ML on, so it was Need/Greed/Disenchant as usual. A 245 Robe dropped that was a rather comfortable upgrade, and a Paladin rolled on it, only to give it to Veir afterwards. I was quite pleased to see that some good people did exist, and to give it to somebody deserving (perhaps I’m biased, but the healing he pulled off was nothing short of legendary given the circumstances) was just icing on the cake.

Veir goes home tomorrow so it’s back to raiding as usual. I’ve missed a couple of raids (just one a week, so I’m still doing the Wrath of Wisdom ‘minimum’, though I’d like to do more) in lieu of spending time with him in real life, which I would always do given the choice between him and WoW, but we’ve still made good progress in the raids I’ve been in.

My mojo is still off walkies, perhaps it’s just that I’m subconsciously distracted by Veir, perhaps I just need to rethink my healing. I’m gonna try find a couple of thousand gold from somewhere soon to regen myself a bit more towards SP/Haste, rather than just Haste, given that I’m now smacking the soft cap into a bloody pulp and taunting the hard cap in a threatening manner too. I’d certainly like to pick up a few shortfalls on my gear, especially my weapon since an upgrade there will make the difference between 2.8k and 3.1k unbuffed Spellpower (a significant amount for healing, I’d certainly say), though a better trinket would be nice too (the Abacus from Gunship25 looks nommy).

Squiggle finally hit 80 and I’ve got enough gear now to tank with her. The good news is that I feel quite happy tanking some of the older stuff (up to ToC5 HC at least), the bad news is I still have a couple of blues and anything ICC5 is going to smack me around a bit. I had an awful (worst ever) run in PoS yesterday, it was late at night and I had a Disc Healer, which is okay if played properly but with AoE damage spilling everywhere, it wasn’t so good when played by whoever played it. Anyway, I was only just defense capped when using an Elixir, and some of my gear was still blue, but we managed to do quite well, a stumble on Garfrost because my stacks crept over eleven but otherwise great. Wiped on the trash pull up the stairs because the healer was twiddling her thumbs (they admitted fault, which is fine), and wiped again on the cave/mountain gauntlet because I pulled before the healer was caught up (despite me asking “ready to go?” and them saying “yes”, still my fault I guess). We votekicked the healer and got a Shaman, then wiped (my fault this time) on the last boss because I got punted in the wrong direction and got two shotted by the empowered boss, but finally got it down (on the fourth run) and I got my Rimefang’s Claw from it, something which made me very happy.

All in all, nothing of major bloggage, just WoW at its best and worst. Hoping to get a ToC run on my Priest again this week so I can get my fucking Stave, otherwise I’ll just have to run FoS normal and get the Blood Boil WASTEOFITEMLEVELS Lancet. Yes, I want a Stave because they’re pretty and I don’t care about my Priest. No I don’t care that you’re going to tell me that I’d be better off with a main hand and off hand frill. Stubborn goat is stubborn.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

