Home > Squiggle > Class Roles

Class Roles

The role check is there in LFG so that, if you can fill a particular role for an instance, you queue as it. Tanks call mobs pussies and keep their aggression, DPS take them hard from behind, and Healers mop up the mess left afterwards. Simple.

Why then, is the transition to Outlands so hard to manage? I’m a Druid, and yes I’m only level 57 but I’ve cleared Hellfire Ramparts more times than I care to remember as a tank, DPS and healer across various classes. Just an hour ago I had a highly successful run with a Feral Druid tanking, nobody died, I had to use Tranquility a couple of times to mop up some tricky pulls but overall it was a complete success. This was in my Azeroth gear, with no Elixirs or even mana drinks, the healing was just that smooth.

I queue for my second group, I want to get to 60-ish just running Ramps, it’ll gear me up amazingly well for questing and it means I’ll have a bit of a head start on Hellfire Peninsula (meaning I can do less of shitty Nagrand for the sixth time in a year), and bing, group pops up in less than a minute.

Level 58 Protection Warrior with 4k HP, Azeroth geared also. Fair enough to him, I’m in my Azeroth gear and he might surprise me. Then again, he might not. Level 62 Death Knight, Unholy specced. Level 64 Rogue, no idea what the spec was. Level 60 Elemental Shaman rocking the beautiful Wrath Totem.

It becomes immediately clear on the first pull of two plus patrol that the Warrior isn’t going to be able to hold agro over the Shaman or the Death Knight. No matter, we carry on, no deaths and no Tranquilities blown yet, so we might be okay. We get to the pack of three casters on the first corridor, and the Death Knight’s pet manages to pull two additional packs. Tranquility number one, no matter because we wiped all the same, even with two HoTs on every person and a massive Tranquility raining from the sky. The Death Knight asks if he can tank instead, and the Warrior agrees. Given that the Death Knight has been getting agro for quite a lot of the instance (or rather, as much as we’d run which was only five or six pulls), I assumed it wouldn’t be too much of a problem.

First pull, he’s in Blood Presence. I call him out on it, he says “I can tank in any presence”, then immediate drops dead despite my best heals. The Warrior picks up, we clear it fine apart from the single death. Ressed up, he switches to Frost and doesn’t say anything more, I presume out of shame but probably not. At this point I’d like to note that Death Grip is not a toy. If you want to use it, then use it properly! Which in this case it wasn’t. He death grips melee mobs, leaving casters at the back with no threat on them ready to pick on me the second a HoT lands. Why would you do that? Surely it would make more sense to Grip the caster if you need to and then have the melee come to you, that way they’re all in range and the poor Druid won’t be pulling with a single Rejuvination.

We get the first boss down with relative ease, and pull everything up to the courtyard on the upper level, where the tricky pulls are because of the patrols that run around in the three groups. Bam, immediately he aggros multiple packs because he fails at timing his Death Grip. We manage to get most of them down, I blow another Tranquility, then a pack rears up behind from one of the fleeing patrols, wipes me down (if I could have Shadowmelded I would have, but it’s never off CD because of the amount of times I’ve ripped agro on casters because the tank hasn’t even dumped a DoT on them), and proceeds to kill off the rest of the group.

On top of that whole shitty tank ordeal, the Rogue that was the highest level in the group was pulling a whopping 200 DPS. I called him out in chat, and in whisper, I even went so far as to inspect him, I have no idea what the fuck he was doing but it wasn’t DPSing. I wonder if it was just some poor guy with only one arm trying to use his mouse with his tongue and his keyboard with his foot so he can use his only free arm to masturbate with.

I’m aware that perhaps I’m a little low to be running Ramps, my heals are underwhelming but my Healing Touch can top up a 4k tank right away, my Regrowth hits for 2k immediate and my HoTs tick at 300-400 every 3 seconds, there’s absolutely no reason you should be able to take more damage than that unless you’re retarded. Oh wait.

Frost Presence doesn’t make you a tank in the same way that a Feral Druid in healing gear doesn’t make a good healer. Mix and match might have worked in the Vanilla dungeons you ran recently, where the mobs only hit for 6 damage and then apologised before bandaging you up, but this is big boy town. If you don’t have a tank spec with your mitigation talents and reasonable threat generation, then don’t come to the table and pretend you’re a tank.

People will never learn. It gets better with Wrath, I’ve found, but only just.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

